Podcast Player

Put my show and this player on your website or your social network.

Monday, January 08, 2007

Winners, Competitions and New Fiction on the Web

Congratulations to the winners of the winners of the 21st Annual City Paper Writing Competition run by the Philadelphia City Paper.

Winner: April Dobbins, Greetings from Lesotho
Runner-Up: M. G. Tarquini, Hindsight
Runner-Up: Chad Willenborg, Suit of Lights

Exceprts of their entries can be read online, following the link above.

The Silent Grey short fiction contest closes Wednesday January 10. Be sure to check it out and get your entry in. This is the first contest Jason Evans has run since he teamed up with Anne Frasier in the summer.

Ezine fans can enjoy a new issue of Thuglit as well as the new Thrilling Detective (which is going up in stages, but should be up any day now). This Thrilling Detective features work by Stephen D. Rogers, Jack Bludis, Duane Swierczynski, Karl Koweski.

Crimespree Magazine seeking Best of 2006 Nominations

Lovers of crime fiction should prepare their shortlists and send them off to Crimespree Magazine. Categories this year include favourite book, best in a continuing series, and favourite Ken Bruen book of 2006.

The Allbook Awards have been announced. Winners are:

Editor’s Choice

Business: The Art of Original Thinking by Jan Philips
Childrens: Do You Know Where Sea Turtles Go? By Paul Lowery
Inspirational: Dancing in the Eye of Transformation by S. Brallier
Non-fiction: Exposed by D. Dimokopoulos
Fiction: Dancing in the Void by R.E. Levin
Mystery: Of Blood and Blackwater by T Heffernan
Sci Fi/Fantasy: Cappawhite by G. Tate
Historical: The I Tetralogy by Mathia B. Freese
Poetry: Unscrambled Eggs by N. Brown

Reviewer’s Choice

Children: John Audubon, Young Naturalist by Mirian E. Mason
Inspirational: Your Daily Walk With The Great Minds of the Past and Present by Richard A Singer Jr.
Fiction: The Butterflys Dance by Christyna Hunter
Non-Fiction: America’s Controversies: The Death Penalty, Clinton’s Presidency & Export of Democracy To Nicaragua by Ksenija Arsic
Mystery: 47 Rules of Highly Effective Bank Robbers by Troy Cool
Sci Fi/Fantasy: The Return of Innocence by D. Simolke

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners.