Podcast Player

Put my show and this player on your website or your social network.

Thursday, July 05, 2007

2007 Dagger Award Winners

The list is in, naming the winners of the Dagger Awards, handed out by the Crime Writers Association.

Duncan Lawrie Dagger Peter Temple - The Broken Shore (Quercus)

Duncan Lawrie International Dagger Fred Vargas - Wash this Blood Clean from my Hand (Harvill Secker), translated by Siân Reynolds

The CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Gillian Flynn - Sharp Objects (Orion)

The CWA New Blood Dagger Gillian Flynn - Sharp Objects (Orion)

The CWA Dagger in the Library

Stuart MacBride
“His books tell of life in all its grim reality, but this only adds to the appeal of this truly impressive new author...the grimmest of subjects, but leavened (thankfully) with dashes of humour. He’s bad news for the Aberdeen tourist industry, but great news for crime readers.”

C.J. Sansom was very highly commended in this category.

The Debut Dagger

Alan Bradley – from British Columbia in Canada – is this year's winner with The Sweetness At the Bottom of the Pie.

David Jackson, from the Wirral on Merseyside was Highly Commended with Pariah.