Podcast Player

Put my show and this player on your website or your social network.

Tuesday, December 19, 2006

Starting Points and Awards

Sarah Weinman provided insight into the question of whether writers should consider starting their careers with small publishers. Check out her post, Where to Begin for a very interesting, insightful perspective on the issue.

Contest News

Canadian writers are encouraged to submit work for the Arthur Ellis Awards. The Arthur Ellis Awards honour excellence in crime fiction - mysteries, thrillers... From Crime Writers of Canada:

Announcing the new Arthur Ellis Award for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel

Is the Great Canadian Crime Novel tucked carefully away in a drawer or even languishing under your bed?

Well, pull it out and enter it in the newly created Arthur Ellis Award category – the Arthur Ellis Award for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel.

This new annual award from Crime Writers of Canada is sponsored by Canadian publisher McArthur & Company and has been created to recognize and promote the careers of promising new Canadian crime novelists. The winner receives a special Arthur Award from the CWC plus a cash prize from McArthur, which has first refusal rights on publishing the novel.

The competition is open to any writer, regardless of nationality, who lives in Canada or is a Canadian citizen living outside Canada, and who has never had a novel of any kind published commercially.

Contestants should have a completed manuscript and submit the opening chapter(s) – 8000 to 10,000 words – plus a 500-word synopsis of their crime novel manuscript. "Crime novel" is defined as crime, detective, espionage, mystery, suspense, or thriller, and can be set in any time period and crime-related sub-genre.

All entries must be accompanied by $30 per submission plus an entry form that can be downloaded from the CWC Website.

Initial submissions will be judged by a panel of publishing professionals who will come up with a shortlist. Shortlisted authors will be asked to submit their completed manuscripts for the second round of judging.

The shortlist will be announced at the end of April along with the shortlists from the other Arthur Ellis categories. The winner will be announced at the Arthur Ellis Awards dinner in Toronto in June.

The deadline for submitting the 8000- to 10,000-word sample and 500-word synopsis is January 31, 2007.

For the specific submission rules and the entry form, go to www.crimewriterscanada.com and click on the Arthur Ellis Awards button.

The 2007 Arthur Ellis Awards

Do you have a book – fiction or nonfiction – or short story that was published in 2006? If you do, it may be eligible for entry in the 2007 Arthur Ellis Awards. There are six categories of awards for published material:
Best crime novel
Best first crime novel (by a writer who has never had a novel of any kind published before)
Best crime nonfiction
Best crime short story
Best juvenile crime book
Best crime book in French

Either you or your publisher may submit the work. The deadline for submissions is January 12, 2007.

For specific eligibility and submission rules, email the CWC at info@crimewriterscanada.com or go to www.crimewriterscanada.com and click on the Arthur Ellis Awards button.